homepage home
subscribe to Mountainstates Construction magazine subscribe
newsletters free e-newsletter
industry jobs industry jobs
Dodge Data & Analytics
Mountainstates Construction Logo
Order Your RISK FREE Subscription

AIA Colorado Recognizes 2010 Achievements in Architecture

Text size: A A

Honor Award

Category: Built ArchitectureiArc Architects
(Seoul, South Korea)
Incheon Tri-Bowl, Incheon, South Korea

Merit Awards

Category: Built Architecture
Studio B Architects (Aspen); Christ Episcopal Church, Aspen
Category: Built Architecture
Gensler (Denver) and Carney Logan Burke Architects (Jackson Hole, Wyo.); Jackson Hole Airport, Jackson Hole, Wyo.Gensler (Denver)
Category: Built ArchitectureGensler (Denver) AECOM (Los Angeles)/Roth + Sheppard (Denver), joint
venture; LAPD Police Administration Building, Los Angeles
Category: Built Architecture
University of Colorado Denver Design Build Studio (Denver) with Studio H:T (Boulder); Learning Cube—Dairy House, Denver
Category: Interiors
Roth + Sheppard Architects (Denver); Modmarket, BoulderGensler (Denver) • Category: Unbuilt Architecture
RNL (Denver); RTD Commuter Rail Maintenance Facility, Denver

Citation Awards

Category: Built Architecture
RNL (Denver); 1755 Blake, Denver
Category: Planning
Gensler (Denver); 200 Columbine, Denver
Category: Built Architecture
Roth + Sheppard Architects (Denver), Boulder Regional Fire Training Facilities, Boulder
Category: Built Architecture
RNL (Denver); U.S. Dept. of Energy’s Research Support Facility at NREL, Golden
Category: Built Architecture
klipp (Denver), Harold Massop Associate Architects (Denver) and Ricci Greene Associates (New York); Lindsey-Flanigan Courthouse, Denver
Category: Built Architecture
iArc Architects (Seoul, South Korea); The Asan Institute for Policy Studies, Seoul, South Korea
Category: Interiors
Gensler (Denver); Wenger Boulder Store, Boulder

In addition to the design awards, six honor awards were presented by AIA Colorado Honor Awards Jury Chair Heidi Hoffmann.
Architect of the Year: George Brelig, RB+B Architects Inc. (Fort Collins)
Honor Award for Planning: Michael Tavel (Denver) in collaboration with Owen Beard, Dan Benjamin, Ida Chou, Ignacio Correa-Ortiz, David Khan and Eric Watson, Greensburg Green Neighborhoods, Greensburg, Kan.
Firm of the Year: Roth + Sheppard Architects (Denver)
25 Year Award: 16th Street Mall (Denver)
Contribution to the Built Environment by a Non-Architect: Roz Schneider, Barker Rinker Seacat Architecture (Denver)
Innovative Practices Award: Alan Ford, Alan Ford Architects (Denver)
Leadership Award: Chris Green, Ago Studios Inc. (Avon)

Finally, five president’s awards were presented by AIA Colorado 2010 President Mary Morissette of Leo A. Daly (Denver). This year’s recipients were:
Christopher Nims, Tryba Architects (Denver)
• Gerardo Salinas, Rojkind Arquitectos (Mexico City)
• Brian Weiss, Pahl Architecture (Denver)
• Sue Zen, SueZen Enterprises (Indian Hills, Colo.)
• John B. Rogers, Firm Service Award: RNL (Denver)


----- Advertising -----
Reader Photos
Photos from ENR Mountain States Photo Showcase
Dodge Lead Center
Search for local construction projects OR CALL 877-234-4246 and get a FREE Lead Now!
Search by Project Type & State

----- Advertising -----
 Reader Comments:

Sign in to Comment

To write a comment about this story, please sign in. If this is your first time commenting on this site, you will be required to fill out a brief registration form. Your public username will be the beginning of the email address that you enter into the form (everything before the @ symbol). Other than that, none of the information that you enter will be publically displayed.

We welcome comments from all points of view. Off-topic or abusive comments, however, will be removed at the editors’ discretion.